Why do we lock template for publishing?
When you or other team admins customize a template simultaneously, you may run into scenarios where we (on behalf of another admin) lock a template from any further changes for a short time. Why do we do this? In short, we do this to allow conflict-free tasks to be run on the template without having any information overwritten.
In more detail, When a team member begins publishing a template, we'll set it to a locked state (Uneditable). This is primarily to avoid situations where one user is publishing while another is making updates/customizations. If we did not enforce this process, a condition could arise where a change is made and published without the publisher knowing. This could lead to broken links, unwanted styles, or unfinished items.
Locking templates temporarily will ensure everyone is on the same page and aware that the current state of the template is being published live.
If you have any other questions about this process, please don't hesitate to reach out.